The Shop

Over fall break I caught up on my television shows and came across, The Shop. Collaborating with HBO Sports, LeBron James and Maverick Carter curate conversation with some of the biggest names in sports and entertainment about cultural issues. While watching the show I was filled with pride and hope for the future of Black people. I enjoyed seeing the gathering of individuals who influence and impact America coming together discussing the issues. The guests on the show are athletes, rappers, and comedians, so their conversations deal with the trials they face in their respective fields. The ShopThe underlying themes of identity and community were prevalent throughout each episode. The barbershop in the Black community is a place of comfort and sanctuary to speak whatever the heart desires. This show created a safe space and I connected with that idea. As an artist I want to facilitate spaces of vulnerability that are welcoming to a plethora of ideas and issues that can be discussed.  This show was a pleasure to watch and I can’t wait for the upcoming episodes.

 

 

 

Leave a comment